Me….. Introduction

For many years, I have struggled with weight loss, or being at a “normal” weight.  I have a medical condition that contributes to my inability to lose weight.  It’s called Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome.  It can affect many things; the main consequence for me is the inability to lose weight.

For as long as I can remember, I have loved fruits and vegetables and sweets and treats as well.  I am not the type of person who is going to eat junk all day. I make a serious effort to stay active, and usually walk a total of 6 to 8 kilometers per day.  When the scale doesn’t budge, no matter what you do, it’s time to take some serious action.

For the past couple of months, I have done a lot of research on what will work for my body and what won’t, mostly through trial and error.  Here is what I have discovered so far:

Sugar is not a good thing for me, although natural sugars can be tolerated in moderate amounts (think fruits or whole grains)
Low carbing is a great fit for me, the weight literally falls off but my body has a hard time adjusting to no carbs
I crave sweets and carbs constantly (think bread and pasta)
I am also extremely caffeine sensitive, and have made a serious effort to cut it out completely

I am currently on a moderate low carb diet and I am considering a sugar detox, with a concentration of not adding sugar back in.  What I have also discovered in the past few months is that there is no magic pill, or shake that will help you magically lose weight, or be healthy.  Its work, hard work but the payoff is so worth it.

That being said, what works for me may not work for you. I am not advocating any one diet or product.  I am advocating eating whole foods, that don’t come from a box.  I also don’t expect myself to be perfect either.  I allow myself meals where I can go a bit crazy but also I am discovering that my body really does not like it when I do that.

I am currently 256.8lbs; mostly I am happy with that weight.  I am healthy in the sense that I do not have high blood sugars, high cholesterol, or any other health problems that I have not already described.   I am learning to be body positive and love myself as a I am.  It’s a long journey but I will get there. I figure if I say I love myself enough times, I will one day believe it.

Welcome to my blog, and welcome to my page.  It’s a bit of everything.  Health, beauty, life, happy, home.  Be yourself.  It’s the best you.

Leave a Reply

